PDA

View Full Version : Raw Oats Question

Patz
01-18-2005, 08:35 PM
When I mix a whey shake, I do two scoops vanilla, 2 cups of skim, and 1 cup of oats. This is a good shake for me, and I pretty much just chew the oats as I'm drinking the shake. My problem is that I'm getting gas something awful! I'm the kind of guy that can put a can of black beans down in one sitting and not even fart the rest of the day, but since I started these shakes 3 days ago I'm miserable with the gas. I saw where someone mentioned soaking the oats beforehand. I've taken them right after adding them to the shake, and twice I've driven to work (about 30min to park and log in) before drinking/chewing it. I figure they are soaking while I drive, but is it enough? Is there anything I can do? Is is the whey?? I've never used whey alone before either. This week is the first week for all of it.

Help :fart:

Jabberwocky
01-18-2005, 08:50 PM
It's probably the whey.

Patz
01-18-2005, 09:23 PM
You think so? I could find that out easily enough by omitting the oats for a couple days,and letting my system adjust to it. I like the oats in there cause it's filling, gets me the calories I need, and adds 10g of protein. I could just be a weirdo and dump half a cup of cottage cheese in it I guess. I don't think I can stomach tuna in there.

Slim Schaedle
01-18-2005, 10:21 PM
I've recently resorted to using tuna in that fashion. I think it ranks up there among the top hardcore things one can do as a bodybuilder. That, and being one of the most disgusting.

thajeepster
01-18-2005, 10:58 PM
its the protein bro, most bodybuilders have the gas problem due to the high amount of protein we take in. Keep the oats.

Patz
01-18-2005, 11:04 PM
this isn't just stinky gas..this is hardcore, hot, power-gas..all freaking day long..every 5min i rip out a juicy one..when i was eating like 160g of protein, i didn't have it..monday my protein was average i guess..yesterday it was 250, and today it was about 270...