PDA

View Full Version : Help change my 'diet'

PunkGo
01-30-2005, 07:08 PM
ok, i am a newb, but im just oh so confused right now. i want to lose some weight and get some muscle definition, and i know it has mostly to do with what you eat. Now, i've been reading on your forums and other sites for about 2 or 3 hours now and I still don't get what kind of diet i am supposed to be on. I am going to buy a workout bench, and weights so should i wait for them to get here before i do my diet? I am at school mon-fri and their food is not the....healthiest. my diet consist basically of the following:

Breakfast:
1 or 2 poptarts (not packages but individual poptart)
Half a glass of water

Lunch:
French Fries, Chicken(breaded) Sandwhich (hamburger bun) w/ ketchup

Dinner:
Usually 8-10 ounces of meat
pasta-type dish to go with it
vegetable (anything from corn to asparagus)
then a glass of milk.

in between all of that i usually have a Diet Snapple or 2 and water. No cokes, not diet or regular.

i have NO idea about 'grams of protein, or complex carbs' or anything or what food contains them. So, if you would tell me, or send me to a website that will describe it that i have not yet come upon that would be greatly appreciated. I want working out and eating healthy become a habbit. Thanks a lot.

Manveet
01-30-2005, 09:29 PM
That is a crappy diet.

Here are some guidelines

Protein = usually 1g per pound of body weight, could be more.

Fats = Stay away from trans fats (chips, cookies, etc.) limit sat fats, concentrate on the poly's & mono's (olive oil etc.) You also need to include EFA's (essential fatty acids) such as fish oil/flax oil. Usually people consume at least 20% of their daily caloric intake from fats, but this is just a guidline. I personally eat more like 25-30%