PDA

View Full Version : How much do you spend on groceries?

Jensen
02-10-2005, 03:22 AM
I'm a college student and I have a fairly tight budget. I would like to keep my food costs under $200-$225 a month and I'm wondering if it can be done?

I'm 6'1" and about 175lbs. I just started lifting sersiously about a month ago and I'm very happy with the short term results. Now I want to step it up.

I'm wondering if you guys could post your grocery lists. Maybe you could even break it down into what you eat daily and how much it costs. I'm not picky and I'll eat the same thing every day if it will fit my budget and benefit my training.

Thanks everyone. :help:

TheBigNasty
02-10-2005, 05:05 AM
I spend about 40 - 50 a week on food (sorry thats in UK pounds, not sure what that works out as in US Dollars)

I buy roughly...

2 bags of 1kilo Chicken Breasts - thats about 8 breasts per bag at 7 per bag
A Bag of Ribeye Steaks for about 8 for the bag
Then the rest is potatoes, sweet potatos, tins of tuna, mineral water, onions, mushrooms, sweet peppers, chillis, two or three loafs of multigrain bread.

AdmiralDan
02-10-2005, 05:48 AM
if you learn how to shop the sales, it can be done

scrutdada
02-10-2005, 08:55 AM
i spend 60 bucks a week, cause thats how much my parents give me for a gift card. you can buy quite a bit with it. i usually get, 2 gallons of milk, 8 cans of tuna, nuts, chicken breasts, peanut butter, zone bars, and i have just discovered these louis rich pre cooked chicken strips, they are about 3.50 a piece, but have two servings of chicken and each package is about 44 grams of protein and only 220 calories. most grocery stores have an in store savings card like a "kroger plus" or "giant eagle advantage" and you can always clip coupons from the sunday paper.

getfit
02-10-2005, 09:48 AM
too much!

Relentless
02-10-2005, 10:14 AM
eating cheap while getting big:

1) cottage cheese
2) flank steak
3) peanut butter