PDA

View Full Version : Deadlifting Problem, please help

domahmegok
02-15-2005, 12:38 AM
Hi,
I am kinda new to deadlifitng, haven't done that much before, but I noticed from some videos I made that I have a problem with keeping my back straight throughout the lift. It is round as it could be. Even in the start off position I can't keep my back straight, it always hunches over. Any way I can improve on this? I want to really work on this form, as I don't want to injure myself. Please help a wannabebig. Thanks

Adam
02-15-2005, 03:59 AM
Lighten the weight.

ftotti10
02-15-2005, 08:22 AM
Look up as you lift, this will ensure your back is arched throughout

LadyLifter
02-15-2005, 08:40 AM
:withstupi

both of 'em...lighten the weight and focus on where the wall meets the ceiling

as you're lifting try thinking about pushing your chest out and pulling your shoulders back as opposed to straightening your back. you might find that to be an easier train of thought.

ElPietro
02-15-2005, 09:15 AM
Yeah, look up, like WAY up. Basically, think of pulling back with your head, almost leading the lift with it. Which is basically what you are trying to do anyway. Also, make sure that the bar stays as close to your legs as humanly possible throughout the entire range of motion. This will enable you to be a bit more upright with the back, and put much less stress on your lower back. Try not to lock your legs out too fast or you'll essentially be doing a stiff-legged deadlift.

domahmegok
02-15-2005, 02:20 PM
When you say look up so your back is arched throughout, does that mean it is acceptable to have a slight arch in your back? When my friends do it they all have really straight backs.

ElPietro
02-15-2005, 02:35 PM