PDA

View Full Version : Losing fat as fast as possible, and preparing to bulk - tell me the smart way please

Chris Miller
02-20-2005, 10:51 PM
I have read so much information and everything contridicts each other. I just want to get the fat skinny (no pun intended) Here is a quick rundown of my situation, and my long term goals.

I am 24 years old, male 5'11 and 196lbs. I have no real lifting experience but I used to work out regularly 7 years ago so I have some decent muscle on most of my body. The problem is, I started eating nothing but fast food, and have been for 7 years taking in an estimated 5k calories per day. My guess is that I must have a very high metabolism because anyone else would probably be 500 lbs by now, but it seems as though I have only added any real noticable fat to my belly and chest. Body fat as measured by a caliper seems to be at about 30%.

My situation is this.... I have ditched all fast food and sweets, and started eating right and my goal is to get all this fat off me in 12 weeks time. I now have a membership to Bally's and the ambition to go every day. I love working muscles but I know cardio is key right now and from what I have read I need to concentrate on low intensity, long duration for max fat loss.

My question is, how many calories should I be taking in? I hear a lot of stuff about how I should only lose 2 lbs per week to avoid losing muscle but I honestly dont know how concerned I should be about this. I just want the weight off, and fast, so that I can start working on getting ripped. I really just want to eat next to nothing, do tons of cardio and worry about gaining muscle later but I dont want to do more harm than good.

So what should I do?

How many calories should I be eating? Different sites tell me different things.

Would it hurt to stay at a really low calorie level (say 1200) ?