PDA

View Full Version : slow metabolism, see doc?

jahutch
02-26-2005, 12:33 PM
Hey all, first a little background: I'm 6'1", between 220 - 228 lbs, have a decent bit of muscle. That said, I also still have a decent bit of fat. Not enough that I really look "fat" when dressed, etc, but its noticeable. I strongly believe I am an endomorph, as I have a "big" build and have had this fat to some degree or another for most of my life. I was fattest around my freshman year of college (230lbs, almost no muscle). I started lifting and paying attention to diet a bit more sophomore year. I got down to 190 around the time I graduated. Since then, I've been in law school, getting less exercise (mostly just lifting). I have gained a good bit more muscle, but also some fat back.

Now to my question: Except for occasional cheating, I limit my calories to around 2500 a day. Most formulas I have seen suggest as an endomorph at my weight my maintenance level should be in the neighborhood of 2800-2900 calories. Yet, I know for a fact, if I ate that much, I'd blow up like a balloon in no time. Even down at 2500 I seem to lose no fat. Cutting lower than that is hard for me, as I find myself hungry, and it also becomes difficult to eat every 3-4 hours when you have so few cals to work with. I also worry cutting back so far for a guy my size will result in significant loss of muscle and poor performance in the gym.

All in all I'd say my diet is BETTER now than it was when I was my lightest. I do less cardio, mainly due to time - law school and resulting lack of sleep barely lets me lift 2-3 times a week, let alone play racquetball and such like I did in college. I'm guessing perhaps that is the difference. Still, I feel like a 6'1" guy weighing 220, lifting with reasonable frequency, should be able to lose fat on 2500 cals a day.