PDA

View Full Version : Female newbie to PL, meet in Sept, how to train?

tholian8
03-01-2005, 05:58 PM
Hi there.

I've been lifting weights for many years, been interested in PL for a long time but only started PL-specific training in the fall of 2004.

I did the "powerlifting off-season program" from the exrx.net site, and at the end of that program I maxed out (raw) at: Bench 62.5 kg, Squat 88 kg, Sumo DL 105 kg.

Since then I have improved to Bench 64 kg, Squat 92.5 kg and decided to try conventional DL instead of Sumo as I think I may have better leverages for that style, so I don't know yet what my max is on conventional DL. I've just joined a pretty hardcore gym with loads of PL equipment (including the elusive reverse hyper bench), and the guys there are very supportive.

I'd like to drop one weight class before this comp, which means losing ~20 lbs, in the next 6 months. I would also like to get my lifts up as much as I can, obviously.

My weak points are:

Bench: 2 inches above chest to 5 in. above chest. If I can get it up to 5 in, it's a sure lockout.

Squat: Just out of the hole--I can explode out with a lot of force but either I'm not generating enough momentum or I have some muscle weakness a couple inches out of the hole--and generally to keep from leaning too far forward under a very heavy weight.

DL: I have just switched from sumo to conventional DL, because heavy sumos were killing my knees, and in any case I'm getting better bar speed on the conventional. So I'm not sure yet what my weak point is here. I'm certain I'll find out very quickly. :)

I've been doing Westside style training for a few weeks, and have been quite impressed by the method--I've already close-gripped BP and box-squatted my previous normal-grip and free-squat maxes.