PDA

View Full Version : cardio exercise(running) before or after lifting?

icemanocp
03-21-2005, 01:45 PM
i have been lifting now for almost 2 months straight, 5 days a week. and i usually do cardio (running) for about 15 minutes at the end of lifting. is this right? or should i be doing cardio before i lift? or does it really even matter? or even better yet, do i really need cardio if all i want to do is bulk up & get good body tone for aesthetic purposes?

Built
03-21-2005, 01:48 PM
Never before, and yes, it matters.

No or little cardio for bulking, and there's no such thing as toning.

Not quite sure how you'd consider bulking to be something you'd do for body tone... :scratch:

Geeper
03-21-2005, 02:28 PM
Look, don't listen to Built, we all know lots of "toned" soccor mom's who get that way from toning class'es. (Just kidding by the way, knew you'd like this Built)

Cardio after, if you do them at the same time. There's a million reasons but the simplest is if you do cardio first you won't have all the strenght you need to do heavy lifting.

Best to separate cardio and lifting as much as possible, even on different days if you can.

If you're bulking you want to keep cardio to a bare minimum, a BARE minimum, you want all your calories to go towards building muscle so burning them off doing cardio is getting in the way of bulking.

Sidior
03-21-2005, 02:35 PM
why go for a run after the gym when its better for you to sit on your ass and do nothing? :D

body
03-21-2005, 02:38 PM
have a good search. Some good in depth post on this done recently.

Built
03-21-2005, 03:11 PM
Look, don't listen to Built, we all know lots of "toned" soccor mom's who get that way from toning class'es. (Just kidding by the way, knew you'd like this Built)

Bite me. :whip:

LOL!

fixationdarknes
04-01-2005, 02:37 PM