PDA

View Full Version : An obvious question: Carb consumption

Nicky Santoro
03-27-2005, 02:05 PM
OK, you'll have to forgive me because I'm new to all this. Don't even bother flaming me for being so ignorant, you were all here once...

Would I be correct in saying that eating too much carbs prevents you from gaining muscle?

I'm curious because for lunch every day I eat a meat sandwich, four or five slices of salami and prosciutto, normally on a sub. Would the bread cancel out the value of the protein in the meat?

Also, are there any advantages of brown over white bread in the area of gaining muscle?

Thanks

Built
03-27-2005, 02:10 PM
No, and no.

jazer80
03-27-2005, 02:12 PM
no, carbs are necessary. if you're just concerned with gaining muscle, do not limit your carbs, or you will limit your energy, which will limit your workouts, finally limiting your strength/size gains.

white bread is stripped of most (maybe all?) of it's nutritional value, and is digested very, very rapidly by the body, bringing on a quick rise in blood sugar, and a quick rise in insulin levels. basically it's the idea of a 'sugar high', where you get a quick burst of energy followed by a crash. the insulin / blood sugar levels being elevated lead to increased fat deposits on the body. also because it goes away from your body so rapidly, you are kind of on an empty stomach much more quickly than if you ate a slower digesting (lower GI, or glycemic index, valued) food, like most 'brown' (whole grain, wheat, etc) breads. being on an empty stomach will hurt your muscle gains. you need to always have food in your stomach.

any more q's feel free to ask. also i don't eat those meats you listed but pretty sure they aren't that great. check out this grocery list, very very helpful

http://www.wannabebigforums.com/showthread.php?t=46565

Nicky Santoro
03-27-2005, 02:18 PM
What I've read is that carbs are difficult to digest so they take blood to the stomach.