PDA

View Full Version : Not getting enough Calories... lost...

trfe
03-29-2005, 02:24 PM
What's up guys,

Ok I'm 5'11'' 161 lbs. I have been out of the gym for 1 yr and started to get back into it about 3 months ago. A month into it i fractured 2 fingers(boarding), but i kept lifting, just couldn't close my right hand. A month after that I dislocated my left shoulder(boarding). I started lifting again last week and am very focused and determined. I am pretty good with nutrition and started tracking all my food on fitday. Yesterday i ate a ton...but only put down 151 grams of protein and 2300 calories. Fitday told me that between the exercise i input and my BMR for my height, weight, age, and sex that I was burning 3500 calories. I am at a loss here...
I immediately thought of weight gainer, but then realized what happens when i go off the weight gainer? My metabolism will still be fast and will be burning more calories than i take in, so won't i lose the extra muscle i put on? Maybe I just need to find a way to consume more calories and eat the same amount of food. Honestly i was eating the whole day, 2 protein shakes, milk, cheese, whole wheat bread, fruit, turkey, chicken, veggies, hard boiled eggs, peanut butter...and then some.

Should i give up on gaining mass and just go for being cut?

Anyone have any ideas?

Slim Jim
03-29-2005, 02:42 PM
I've got a magic potion that has helped me gain, the amazing oatmealshake! Just take about 150-250 grams of oatmeal, some proteinpowder (the same amount you use in a regular protein shake) and fill it up with either skimed milk or water. A few of theese babys a day will help you get some extra calories. Think about it, 200 grams of oatmeal is about 700 calories alone.

trfe
03-29-2005, 02:43 PM
good lookin' out man. I'll look into it. Thanks for the advice.

...just remembered my protein at work is Mint chocolate chip flavored...might make for an interesting flavor of oatmeal.

[[[----]]]
03-29-2005, 07:25 PM