PDA

View Full Version : should I squat?

Luigijawbreaker
04-09-2005, 04:53 AM
Will doing squats in a powerlifting way slow down my kicking ability?pleasd give me your advise

jack_of_all
04-09-2005, 10:15 AM
Will doing squats in a powerlifting way slow down my kicking ability?pleasd give me your advise

it is very unlikely to slow down your muscles by building strength, it is possible for it not to speed them up, but often times it does just that. you can also do speed work for your legs, like box squats/cleans/etc.

i would reccomend for max strength through the whole range of motion that you, and anyone, do full squats and at least some other type of assistance and some type of speed work, not that im an expert, but this should make you stronger, and probably faster.

Luigijawbreaker
04-10-2005, 03:50 AM
it is very unlikely to slow down your muscles by building strength, it is possible for it not to speed them up, but often times it does just that. you can also do speed work for your legs, like box squats/cleans/etc.

i would reccomend for max strength through the whole range of motion that you, and anyone, do full squats and at least some other type of assistance and some type of speed work, not that im an expert, but this should make you stronger, and probably faster.