PDA

View Full Version : New to competition... what to expect

hoser813
04-30-2005, 04:11 PM
I have been lifting reguarly for a couple years now, and Im entering a small regional competition soon. Its a $30 buy in and I think its scored by weight lifted/body weight sort of thing. Now Ive never done anything like this before, so can you guys give me some advice on how to prep, what kind of lifts to expect, and how to lift the most, and any other important information so I can take the pot.

Organichu
04-30-2005, 04:33 PM
What's your weight? Which lifts will be included? All of the big three? What's the age group?

hoser813
04-30-2005, 04:36 PM
Im 150 right now, and I dont know what lifts are being done. What are normally done? Im such a noob to this I have no idea what Im doing. Ages are really 18 and up. Anyone's invited to lift in it, but I think since Im in a lower class, I should be able to do respectively. What are the big three lifts?

Future Marine
04-30-2005, 04:48 PM
Big 3 are bench, squat, and deadlift. You should go I just came back from my first competion and had a good time. How much can you lift?

hoser813
04-30-2005, 05:44 PM
now sometimes could they sub cleans for deadlifts in a competition?

I havent maxed in a long time, but just guessing Ill say bench 225+, squat around 250, and Ive never actually done deadlifts.... looks like Ill have to get busy working on those.

Future Marine
04-30-2005, 05:47 PM
Yea sometimes they'll sub cleans for deadlifts, they did in mine atleast.

hoser813
04-30-2005, 05:52 PM
i read somewhere that to be competitive in most cases that you need to be able to do 1.5x body weight for bench, and 2x bw for squat and deadlift. Is this pretty much right?

So for me, id need to be able to do 225 bench, and 300 for squat and dl.

Future Marine
04-30-2005, 06:01 PM