PDA

View Full Version : Linebackers

linebckr83
05-09-2005, 10:23 AM
I am kinda new to the linebacker position and this season will be my last in high school so I am working really hard in the weight room and on the track. To all of you linebackers, what are the most important traits I need?

Isaac Wilkins
05-09-2005, 10:27 AM
You need very good burst speed and change of direction. Your top end speed is less important as you'll probably never hit it. You need to be able to accelerate very fast and be agile.

Learn to use your hands to shed blocks.

The most important part of being a linebacker is mental. You need to put in your study time and know what the other team is doing. Know your keys. This is even more important if you play inside.

KoSh
05-09-2005, 11:22 AM
As I said in the PM, the MOST IMPORTANT aspect of being a linebacker is knowing your scheme and being disciplined within that scheme... Football is a team sport, 11 guys working for one common goal on each side of the ball... All 11 people have a job to do, so it needs to be done.

Linebacker is usually a glorified position where people falsely assume all that matters are tackles, sacks, picks, etc... But, the best linebackers are the ones who do what they need to do in order for other guys to make the plays... Sure, you'll need to make some plays yourself, but you need to do whatever job you need to do within different plays... You can't always be the hero.

change of direction and acceleration are also a large part...

Isaac Wilkins
05-09-2005, 11:25 AM
Bingo.

dude34
05-12-2005, 10:29 AM
If I know that I can tell you what you will need to work on the most. Are you fast? Agile? My advice get off the track, get on the field. Do dummy drills, work on form tackling, contact you D-Coordinator to make sure you are all the same page as to what LB's do in your scheme. Your lateral speed is imperative... Are you playing inside or outside?

linebckr83
05-16-2005, 06:41 PM