PDA

View Full Version : Preworkout carbs for cardio?

cphafner
06-19-2005, 09:36 PM
I'm a newb when it comes to cutting, this is the first time I have ever attempt any type of cut. I was wondering if I should consume any carbs pre-cardio. I normally only consume carbs during breakfast and pre/postworkout. The only other carbs I take in during the day is in the form of veggies (not counting reload days). I am doing cardio at night after work, AM cardio is just not possible. I normally consume 300 cals pre-workout (26 g protein, 43g carbs). My loss is starting to slow a bit. If I normally consume 300 pre-workout, and then burn about 300 cals during cardio, it seems like a waste of time. Should I drop the carbs pre-workout? I'm assuming that I should still be consuming carbs post-cardio (just like working out). Thanks for any help, sorry about the newb question.

chops
06-19-2005, 11:54 PM
some may say it depends on the type of cardio you're doing, i.e. steady state 65-75% HR (don't eat) or HIIT (eat). personally no matter what kind of cardio i plan to do, i always have to eat a small amount of carbs (~100 cals) to help get me going in the beginning or i will start off sluggish, stay sluggish, suffer, and quit early. if i eat, once i get going, i can keep going for a longer period than if i hadn't eaten, and in the end i net more cals burned. i'd prefer to not eat, but that just doesn't work for me.

cphafner
06-20-2005, 05:16 AM
Chops: Thanks. I am doing a combo of low/higher intensity cardio. 2x's a week I am walking on an incline at a brisk pace. The other 2x's a week I am doing more intensity interval training on an eliptical stairstepper.

redcap
06-23-2005, 03:54 PM
I do a lot of cardio, I've found that if I consume enough caffinee before a workout, I can push myself very far. Energy drinks like redbull are evil in this sense.