PDA

View Full Version : Not growing -- need help with my diet, please!

unev_en
12-13-2001, 09:35 AM
I've been training consistently for over a year (before that, I played sports and trained intensely but unintelligently.) I have been using my current routine for four months; and over the last six months, I have seen a total weight gain of approximately 8-10 lbs. In recent weeks/months, however, my progress has stalled; in fact, though my strength is slowly, slowly increasing, I am seeing no growth whatsoever in most of my body. I wonder if my diet is to blame, especially since the routine I am using provides adequate rest and has been found by many to be extremely effective. I want to increase calories, but I am not sure how exactly to do so; I am afraid of adding too much fat, and once I get set in an eating routine, it is quite difficult to change it.

Stats: 18, Male, 5'7'', 136 lbs, and very low bf%.
Diet:

Meal One: 7:15
one cup oats
25 g egg white protein
one omega-3 /omega 6 enriched egg yolk
one tbsp cashew butter (8 g fat)

meal two:10:30
2/3 cup oats
one 3 oz can of tuna

meal three: 1:00
one half cup (measured uncooked) brown rice (340 cal, 75 c)
one tbsp cashew butter
some fibrous veggies
one can low sodium tuna (34 g protein.)

meal four: (post-workout) 5:00
50 g dextrose/malto
25 g egg white protein.

meal five: 6:30
10 oz. sweet potato
6 oz salmon filet (14 g fat)
veggies

meal six: 9:30-10:00
two egg yolks
three egg whites

Total calories are around 2600-2800. Please, any suggestions as to exactly how to go about increasing my caloric intake would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

P.S.: I would eat whey, milk, and peanut butter, but I am fatally allergic to all dairy and nut products (except cashews.)

12-13-2001, 12:25 PM
Meal One: 7:15
one cup oats
25 g egg white protein
one omega-3 /omega 6 enriched egg yolk
one tbsp cashew butter (8 g fat)

**add a source of carbs. Maybe oatmeal and mix your cashew butter in it.

meal two:10:30
2/3 cup oats