PDA

View Full Version : Good Mornings?

jack_of_all
08-06-2005, 03:41 PM
ok, i tried to really do these for the first damn time EVER today and had a rough time. it seems that my max is probably like 95 lbs lol.

apparently ive become inflexible since i started lifting because i cant go down all that far far without noticeable back rounding. (i can get to around half way between 45 degrees and parlell with the ground before it starts to kick in) i think i remember hearing you dont bring your torso all the way to paralell but i dont know. how far down should i go?

ok, i basically CANT do gm's without rouding my back. without any weight i would round my back in that motion. maybe its not so much rounded as it is straight and im just used to having my back arched in dls and such, but its definitley close to rounding with maybe a very slight (not visible) back rounding.

what variations do you think are the best for gms? right now i think i can only do them with considerable knee bend and normal foot placement, or a very wide foot placement and slight knee bend. i cant do them with an arched back at all.

so should i work on flexibility, and if so, how? or will doing them good and hard on a very frequent basis when i start westside correct itself?

i really liked the feel of this exercise but i just cant do them worth **** right now.

Miguel Zambia
08-06-2005, 03:59 PM
I just go ahead & stand with about the same foot placement as I do on real squats & DL, which is basically Sumo.

I've been working more & more on making sure I get the bar down toward the middle of my back (not literally, but as an idealized goal).