PDA

View Full Version : College and Work

Munky
08-07-2005, 06:13 PM
I'm gonna be going to college soon and i'm going to have to find a new job. I currently work in construction but i don't think this is the best field to work in during college with the late hours and all its not very flexible. I'm kind of low on ideas right now i've already applied at Lowe's and Home Depot as a Sales Assoctiate, but I would just like to ask you people where did you guys work during college?

RussianRocket
08-07-2005, 06:24 PM
i'm in the same boat as you. Gonna have to find a job for University. This summer i worked as a production worker in a juice factory, well still working. Dont have any ideas, but wouldn't mind hearing some as well.

Roark
08-07-2005, 08:07 PM
i worked mostly at restaurants

i loved it. there's always a pretty interesting social circle that revolves around restaurants. especially when all the workers are college-aged.

pbsteve09
08-07-2005, 08:41 PM
In my college we have alot of on campus jobs, those are outstanding. But around the area we have alot of mexican, hot-dog, sub, etc etc resturants around...those are pretty flexable on hrs.

BilltheButcher
08-07-2005, 09:37 PM
Bouncing, bartending, restaurants. Good enough money for college and also keeps you social while you make money.

HahnB
08-07-2005, 09:40 PM
Fed-ex or ups isn't bad. I'm just starting at fed ex and the pay is better than what you would get at home depot. The hours are good too, for me anyways(6-11pm). It kind of pays off more if you're in it for the long run, but it isn't a bad job for a student.

GMCtrk
08-07-2005, 09:45 PM
There are TONS of jobs at the university for students, they will employ you in a snap. Plus the jobs are easy as **** and you have time to do homework

Shao-LiN
08-07-2005, 10:05 PM
Yah, in most cases, you can do homework while you supposedly are working, hehe. I remember helping a friend out at the UCI arcade. Lots of music, lots of people, lots of time to study.