PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about CrossFit please.

Coleman
09-06-2005, 02:01 PM
So I've been spending some time over on the CrossFit boards reading up on it and I like the sounds of it. Is it actually effective? The people on the boards seem to say so but I would like some other opinions.

I like the idea of whole body workouts that are varied but I'm not so sure about some things about it. Some of the workouts have you do things like 300 push ups and 200 body weight squats. Things like that just don't seem effective.

I would like to start doing some of the workout of the day's and some of the workouts that are named after females (these workouts are always the same and are used to gauge how you have improved I think).

What do you guys think?

PS. I'm a martial artist as well, not really training for size.

fixationdarknes
09-06-2005, 02:58 PM
Crossfit is geared toward endurance and overall condition rather than strength. This is the reason they do hundreds of pushups and things like that. Personally, I wouldn't do something like Crossfit as part of my normal routine, but I think some of the exercises on that site can work very well, especially for a nice changeup.

MixmasterNash
09-06-2005, 03:41 PM
Crossfit is cross training, and as such trains endurance and strength.

Tell me that this workout isn't about maximum strength:
Overhead squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Front squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Back squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps

The point is that the variation is interesting, to be more fit than weightlifters, and stronger than endurance athletes. Not much running, but a high level a fitness and the capability to run a lot if necessary, and then pick up something heavy.

The problem is that the WODs, as prescribed, are ridiculously hard. There are substitutes, but even those are non-trivial. I am pretty fit and I can't even do a lot of the WODs, to say nothing of making good times. Now, Crossfit is NOT the WODs, but the principals of variation, and I like that.