PDA

View Full Version : Smaller but stronger?

nejar462
09-17-2005, 09:40 AM
HEy guys I have a question because something VERY strange happened to me. I decided to finally cut weight (I'm getting into endurance sports now) so I began cutting cals out of my diet and also cut out my cheat meals. Now I didn't change ANYTHING else at all training regimen except I added HIIT sprints 3 days out of the week (I do westside pretty much standard except with fewer reps than normal for hypertrophy exercises.) Now I figure I cut about 20 lbs. However, my lifts didn't go down or stay the same at all. They actually went up substantially. I added about 30 pounds to my squat (which is now a nice even 510.5) and about 20 lbs to my benchpress. Normally I don't get such good gains in my lifts in such short time.

I used to be 5'2.5 at 195 lbs. (I've been lifting for about 5 years while being more or less on target with diet and training except for exam weeks.) Now I'm around 175 lbs and looking to get down to around 160 to see if my lifts continue to increase and if I get some more endurance and of course a better looking body.

My wrestling coach once said some guys get stronger at lower weights but I just assumed he was talking about of his ass because it doesn't make sense to me logically. However it seems to me thats whats happening to me. Any explanations. My training regimen is pretty much the same except for the added HITT so any incite on this would be nice. Dietwise I cut out my once a week cheat meal and reduced cals all around.

BTW im going to try an all atlarge supplementation program+2 tbls of flax oil, I'll tell you guys how it goes after 2 months. Chris mason and Hulk please start selling fish oil and flax oil!!!!

fixationdarknes
09-17-2005, 10:51 AM
Being smaller doesn't make you "stronger." That's total BS. All it does is cut potential strength from your muscles.