PDA

View Full Version : In need of diet advice

dhtmldude
09-20-2005, 11:30 AM
Hello,

I have been lifting for about 3 months now. I've learned quite a bit about diet and nutrition as well as form and the actual movements. I need help structuring my diet mostly since I have learned that compound exercises are key for a guy my size. I'm currently 190lbs 6'2". My 2 year goal is to gain 50lbs over 2 years, at 1/2lb a week I think its accomplishable. However, without a solid understanding of what and how much I should be eating I am for sure going to fail - not an option.

I have a high metabolism. I can lose weight fast and eat anything I want and see few gains. As I get older its slowing down. I work a seated job and walk aprox 30 mins at a brisk pace to/from work.

I am working 5 days a week. I would like to think I push myself hard, altough when I am pumped to work out I usually dont end up getting the sore feeling after and I want to go back and do some more lifts. I am impatient but determined.

I have read that I should be eating fats, but I really dont I want to avoid them and stick to protein/carbs (in order of quantity)? I need help getting started with a "diet". I want to pack a lunch and eat by the clock. Your help is greatly appreciated, in whatever shape it comes.

Thank you

getfit
09-20-2005, 11:32 AM
no you need healthy fats!

soreness is not an indicator that you're not progressing!

Wierz
09-20-2005, 11:39 AM
Quoted from someone asking something similar not long ago.

All I can do is tell you what I've done to gain 15ish pounds.

No less than 1 gram of protein per pound of bodyweight, but I eat about 1.5 grams per pound. It says you weigh 155 lbs, therefore try to get at least 210-230 grams of protein per day.