PDA

View Full Version : Reasons why alcohol is bad for bodybuilding

Davidelmo
10-31-2005, 07:08 PM
There was a thread a while ago asking about the effects of alcohol etc and I just thought I'd post my experience from this weekend.

I'm small 140lbs 5ft 8 but I've gained around 5lbs since I started bulking, trying really hard to eat more calories from good foods etc. Anyways, I'm a Uni student and went to a huge party on Saturday and got pretty wasted.

That night I skipped my evening meal and snack and totalled only around 2000kcal for the day. To make matters worse this was a day when I had gone to the gym too.

Of course, the next day I felt like **** and woke up at 1pm.. missed breakfast and mid-morning snack and didnt feel well enough to eat a proper lunch. I forced down a bowl of porridge (oats) ~300kcal but couldn't stomach any more.
Also I was very dehydrated, my mouth was dry and I had a crazy headache.

It was evening time by the time I could face eating a decent meal again.

I actually *felt* smaller and weaker too, which was weird, and my energy was depleted.

It also buggered up my program for Sunday too and again I had a day of poor diet- probably because I hadnt eaten much the day before.

It's Monday night now here and I'm almost back on track. I went to the gym today and only just managed to meet last Mondays workout (I'm on WBB1).
Every time I do the same day I try to improve on the last one and I have succeeded every time up until this week.

I put it down to the poor diet for the last two days which had left me pretty depleted in energy.

I guess in conclusion, alcohol is fun but as well as messing you up medically it wrecks any schedules etc that you have, which is NOT good for those trying to gain weight!!

reloaded
10-31-2005, 10:45 PM
Tip: Have a few drinks, but don't get wasted. I prolly drink 2 - 3 times a week, but I don't ruin my diet by drinking it to hell. I wake up with great energy after a good night's sleep even after drinking.