PDA

View Full Version : Nutrition for college student

gator
11-05-2005, 01:54 AM
I'm a college student and dont have access to nice home cooked protein meals anymore like steak chicken, etc. My diet is basically cereal w/milk for breakfast, a couple granola bars or yogurt as for some snacks, then dinner, usually subway with double meat to at least get some protein. I'm about 170-175 lbs 6'0'' with muscle as I have been working out for 3-4 years now, but not huge or ripped. What are some good ways to supplement some protein without getting too many calories, my matabolism is just really slow it seems, i'm very active and can still gain weight, which is why i just cut about 10-15 lbs from my football weight been eating about 1200 calories a day the last 2 months to do that. i want to get back into some lifting and need some diet advice that would work for a college student that can't cook.

HoTShoT_KiD
11-05-2005, 02:15 AM
I was going through the same thing as you. Personally, i find the cafeteria food tastes like crap. Basically, every couple days i run out and buy some needed supplies and restock my fridge. Eggs in the morning. Tuna sandwich on whole wheat bread, etc. Check out my Fitday. The one downfall is the fact that i get no solid supply of meat which would be a nice addition. I have also found milk to be nice for adding on those extra calories. I've been on the diet for a little over a month but only recently started fitday, and gained about 13.5 pounds. Hope this can be some help to you. -HoTShoT-

http://www.fitday.com/WebFit/PublicJournals.html?Owner=HoTShoT%5FKiD

I just noticed that it doesn't look like you want a whole lot of cals. I have been able to get nice amounts of protein within the diet though.

gator
11-05-2005, 02:39 AM