PDA

View Full Version : A couple beef questions

crazyaoshi
11-08-2005, 08:27 AM
I tried first searching for this info but couldn't find anything, so here we go.

1. I remember reading here awhile ago that you should try to eat beef once a day. Do you agree? And if so, is there any special reason? If I recall correctly, it was for the natural creatine that's of a higher level in beef than say, chicken. But if I am supplementing my diet with creatine powder anyway, then my body shouldn't care if it's fed beef protein or chicken or tuna or anything else.

2. Ever since I started lifting, I almost always boil my beef when I cook it. Maybe it's just for peace of mind, but even if I buy lean beef [I tend to buy flank] it produces some greasy brown foam when boiled long enough. Now I don't boil it to the point of being tough, but I assume this brown foam is fat. When I calculate my calories, I always do so using the info for the raw meat because I don't know what happens when you boil it. Anyone know? If I'm losing protein or other nutrients I'll stop boiling it. But honestly I'm tired of eating beef everyday I lift, it's higher calorie plus it's not terribly cheap.

Thanks for any info.

LovinLiftin
11-08-2005, 09:38 AM
I eat mainly chicken everyday... however I have been told to eat beef more often when I was anemic for the iron in red meat that isn't in chicken... as for boiling I have no idea, i usually fry or grill it.

HILL
11-08-2005, 02:50 PM
As for your first point im not sure i know as lovinliftin has said there are many good things in beef and other meats and i think your right in saying their is higher creatine levels in beef compared to other food.

2. i used to george forman alot of my meat and still do some meat but prefer to fry gamon and beef etc as it has a nicer tatse and really isnt much different health wise in my opinion

Built
11-08-2005, 02:55 PM