PDA

View Full Version : macronutrient ratios - percentages vs. calculated from LBM

SpecialK
11-11-2005, 09:52 AM
So for a long time I have used percentages to calculate my P/F/C, based on my total cals. I use my weight and strength progression (or lack thereof) to decide when to increase cals, and then my percentages change accordingly.

Right now I use the 40/40/20 p/c/f split, and I'm consuming 4300 cals per day. I've been training for about 2 years now and have been clean bulking for almost all of that time.

I was wondering if we could get a discussion going about which method people prefer and why.

Manveet
11-11-2005, 10:44 AM
So for a long time I have used percentages to calculate my P/F/C, based on my total cals. I use my weight and strength progression (or lack thereof) to decide when to increase cals, and then my percentages change accordingly.

Right now I use the 40/40/20 p/c/f split, and I'm consuming 4300 cals per day. I've been training for about 2 years now and have been clean bulking for almost all of that time.

I was wondering if we could get a discussion going about which method people prefer and why.

Percentages dont mean a whole lot.

Once you get in your required protein and fat, the rest is just extra cals needed for growth. Some people feel that they do much better with higher fat diets (carb sensitive folks), while others like a higher carb diet. I don't pay attention at all to my ratios and I always seem to eat something like 30/40/30 p/c/f.

JustLost
11-11-2005, 12:09 PM
I've done both, but now I basically plan my day's food starting with protein, EFAs, and fiber, then use fats and carbs to bring calories up to whatever the goal is at the time. I've found that I feel best when I keep carbs between about 150 and 250 g, so that gets worked into the equation somewhere.

When I'm feeling really lazy, I just make sure I get enough protein and fiber, and let everything else take care of itself. ;)

sCaRz*Of*PaiN
11-11-2005, 12:16 PM