PDA

View Full Version : Natty PB

HelpMeLift
01-02-2006, 05:58 PM
okay i'm kinda pissed off because i just found out that the great tasting, supposedly "all natural" peanut butter that i used to eat is one of those junk food pieces of crap.

i went out and bought some 100% natural pb and it's not creamy at all. it's like chunky and oily/liquidy. is this the right kind?

and one last thing since i'm fairly new to the natty pb world, can anyone suggest some good recipes to use the pb in? i used to spread my pb on toasted whole wheat bagels but i have a feeling that it won't taste as good with the real natty pb. thanks!

Davidelmo
01-02-2006, 06:06 PM
Yeah I think the oily one is natural.

I use the cheap stuff, 30p per 300g jar. The natural is over 1.50 for the same size and in my opinion doesnt even taste as good. The nutritionals are almost equal and I'm not HUGELY bothered that mine contains extra stuff like hydrogenated vegetable oil (yeah I know it's bad.)

Have you tried the pb/oats/whey/milk shake yet? If not, you should!
I add 750ml milk, 100g oats, 25g whey and 4 tbps PB = ~1000kcal

Built
01-02-2006, 08:33 PM
Make sure your natty is SALTED. The unsalted tastes like wallpaper paste.

HelpMeLift
01-02-2006, 08:39 PM
yeap mines salted.
it says refrigerate after opening to prevent the oil from dispersing.
so will it turn into the normal smooth peanut butter's texture or will it continue to stay oily? thanks.

thanks dave for that recipe. i'll try it out after i'm off this medication im on right now (some herbal crap that's supposed to be good for me)

Built
01-02-2006, 08:42 PM
I don't refrigerate it, but some folks do.

Yes, it remains somewhat oily. I like that about my natty, but it did take a little getting used to. I don't know what you got, but I prefer chunky.

Try it on a chunk of apple. You might find yourself liking it on different things than you did with the fake crap.

HelpMeLift
01-02-2006, 09:29 PM