PDA

View Full Version : At what point should I start a powerlifting cycle?

puny_ectomorph
01-18-2006, 10:54 AM
Hello all,

For the last six-seven months I've been on a straight bulk, starting with a simple 20-rep squat routine and then moving on to a twice-a-week, full-body program (squats, benches, high pulls, curls on monday; deads, overhead presses, BO rows, waist work thursday). I've gone from a bodyweight of 140 lbs in July 2005 to a current bodyweight of 180.

I've done the bulk because I figured I'd need it if I was going to break into powerlifting. I'd like to hit a bodyweight of 200 by summer, with 220 being my eventual goal. However, I've been itching to come off the basic bodybuilding-style program (I utilize 5 x 5 for the big movements, 3 x 8-10 for junk like curls) and try a powerlifting cycle.

My question is, should I wait and pack on some more mass before I attempt to cycle? Also, I've never done 1 RM before, and am not quite sure how to properly attempt them. In addition, I use ATF olympic-style, high-bar squats, and am wondering if it would be advisable to switch to the wider-stance power-style for awhile.

My numbers for the big lifts are as follows: olympic-style squat, 215 for 5 reps, deadlift: 240 for 5 reps, bench: 150 for 5 reps (bench is my weakest exercise).

Thanks,
-puny-

KevinStarke
01-18-2006, 10:57 AM
Definietelly figure out your one rep max, do some research on powerlifting and when you feel ready I say go for it.

khari
01-18-2006, 11:04 AM
Are you planning on competing in power lifting?

puny_ectomorph
01-18-2006, 11:08 AM