PDA

View Full Version : MBA Career Paths

galileo
01-20-2006, 08:19 AM
I was reading USA today and found an article on MBAs and their average starting salaries out of college, which got me a little excited. In about a half year I will have my MBA and (apparently) the sky is the limit.

[I found the article online : http://biz.yahoo.com/usat/060118/13344817.html?.v=1]

My ungrad focuses were Math and Computer Science and I have about 5 years of experience in the IT field, doing a lot of strategic work. Beyond IT management, I was wondering what other career paths are available for me. I know IT managers (for the most part) aren't pulling in 106,000 a year on average. According to the Computer World Salary Survey for last year, I believe it was close, but I know most IT managers at that level have been in the business for a significant amount of time.

Just curious about everyone's thoughts on it. I'd like to increase my income by about 25% over the next year and a half and if changing the direction of my career is how I do it, I'm fine. I know some of you have MBAs and I'd like to see the level of success you've had with it.

Thanks in advance.

BilltheButcher
01-20-2006, 08:35 AM
I have worked in the IT field and now own an IT company. I have worked with countless MBA receipents and I won't hire one in my company. First, they demand more money then the average college graduate and second, their skills aren't that much better if at all then the average college graduate. In the IT field I am more worried about what you know and how fast you can get it done and the quality of that work. Experience is much more important.