PDA

View Full Version : Westside right for me?

Optimum08
01-26-2006, 05:08 PM
Let me give you a background, i have currently been lifting hard for about 2.5-3 years and have made some pretty good gains (i was naturally pretty muscular and strong) and have been considering switching to Westside from my current bodybuilding-type lifting routine. I am not really plateau-ing or anything i've just been reading up on Westside and how it can be very beneficial for football players (im going to be playing college ball next season). I've done a search and read how Westside was not for novice lifters/skinny guys and i don't feel im a novice, and i know im not a skinny guy.

Stats:
Height: 6'0''
Weight: 230 Lbs.

Maxes:
Bench: 315 Approx.
Squat: 410 Approx.
Deadlift: 410 Approx.

Would i be a candidate to switch to Westside and would it be beneficial for football enough to switch from my routine now?

If needed i can give you an example of my current routine.

Paul Stagg
01-26-2006, 05:22 PM
Sure.

Optimum08
01-26-2006, 05:25 PM
Do you think i am "qualified" for it and that it will assist in more football related strength?

Paul Stagg
01-26-2006, 05:27 PM
Sure.

:)

Optimum08
01-26-2006, 06:35 PM
haha thanks Paul...i'll probably post my modified (for football)style westside up here this weekend to be critiqued...

SW
01-26-2006, 06:58 PM
I'd say you're good for it. It's possible to make huge gains in a short amount of time with it, and to use that drive through your legs and out your hands to destroy someone on the field.

drew
01-26-2006, 07:58 PM
What they said.

Optimum08
01-29-2006, 02:10 PM
any legit substitues for reverse hypers? cuz i work out at my high school weightroom and it gets the job done, but no reverse hyper "machine"...

Optimum08
01-29-2006, 02:11 PM
i have good mornings instead of the glute-ham raises as an assistance exercise...

Optimum08
01-29-2006, 02:46 PM