PDA

View Full Version : Are raw eggs really a problem?

PredatorX
01-28-2006, 04:15 AM
Or is it much ado about nothing?

I'm a poor student. Almost bankrupt, actually. I cant afford whey protein at the moment, and I've calculated based on all my available food sources that eggs are the cheapest per gram of protein that I can get.

Omelettes are nice. Boiled eggs are nice. There are lots of different ways to do eggs that are nice. The problem is, I'm used to protein shakes, and I like the convenience of them, particularly when I'm tired after a workout and dont want to fire up the stove.

What I've been doing lately is simply using milk and raw eggs blended to make a milkshake - I've started experimenting with adding cocoa powder and a little sugar for taste - and it seems good.

Of course, raw eggs have a bad reputation, and what I want to know is, is it deserved? Is it really anything to worry about? I've heard figures such as 1 in 30,000 eggs containing salmonella. Is this accurate? Are there any other problems that can be caused by raw eggs?

PeterParker
01-28-2006, 06:14 AM
why not just use skimmed milk powder with your milk.
instead of eggs.

TheGimp
01-28-2006, 08:07 AM
The salmonella is not the probelm, it's the bioavailability of the protein, which is enhanced by cooking as it denatures the avidin in the egg white. There have been countless posts on this topic, I suggest you do a search.

eatit
01-28-2006, 11:11 AM