PDA

View Full Version : My New Routine

K.Huget
02-12-2006, 10:19 PM
I'm relatively new to powerlifting so i'm going to need some advice on the routine I made. Before this I was only hitting the big three lifts once a week and I felt that most powerlifting routines required you to do each one AT LEAST twice a week. I feel like I can definetely handle them twice a week.

Monday/Thursday (slashes mean I rotate exercises)
Bench Press- http://www.timinvermont.com/fitness/benchpgm.htm routine
Pushdowns/Dips - 3-4 sets of 6-10
Squats - 5-7 sets of 1-6
Leg Curls/Laying leg curls - 3-4 sets of 8-10
Calf Raises - 4-5 quick sets of 6-10

Tuesday/Friday (slashes mean exercises are rotated)
Military Press/Dumbell Military Press - 5-7 sets of 2-8
Shrugs/Lateral Raises - 3-4 sets of 6-10
Deadlift - 5-6 sets of 1-6
Seated Row/Barbell Row - 4 sets of 6-10
Dumbell Curls/Barbell Curls - 2-4 sets of 6-10 (As little as possible)

If you have any comments or things I should change please speak your mind. I would like to start this routine tomorrow and need opinions fast.

johnnytang24
02-13-2006, 03:00 AM
I think it's too much. Especially deadlifting heavy twice a week AND squatting heavy twice a week. Even deadlifting twice a week is too much.

Thanks.

Optimum08
02-13-2006, 04:35 PM
thats a lot of volume...im currently using a modified westside routine..and even that is basically split into a heavy squat/deadlift day and a lighter more explosive day and a heavy bench day with a lighter more explosive day as well...you may want to look into not training squat and dead heavy twice a week as those exercises are very taxing to the CNS...

Sensei
02-13-2006, 04:55 PM
There's absolutely no way I could do one of those workouts, let alone finish the week, using any respectable amount of weight.

After doing a heavy bench workout, there's no way I can load up the bar and do heavy squats... I'm not saying it can't be done - a lot of people can do and do it well, but I'm not one of them.