PDA

View Full Version : GPP and Overtraining

KingJustin
04-09-2006, 07:41 PM
I'll keep this short.

If I train often (as in # of hours spent on fitness per week), then I start having trouble recovering and eventually I get sick.

GPP is designed to increase the amount of work you can do per week. Well, how do you add in GPP without it causing you to get sick?

Hopefully you guys catch what I'm saying. Let me know if I need to clarify.

MixmasterNash
04-09-2006, 07:54 PM
How many hours do you train per week?

It's probably not overtraining, but under-recovering. I would make sure that your nutrition is adequate and properly timed and look at increasing calories. And make sure you're getting enough sleep! Then, look at some active recovery and stretching work.

And THEN look at improving overall fitness.

And mods should move this to the GPP forum!

KingJustin
04-09-2006, 09:12 PM
Well, I've been training for a few years now. I do perform active recovery and such, but when I really pack on the # of sessions it doesn't seem to matter.

Looking through my logs, on a few occassions I've done as much as 1 hr lifting sessions 5 days a week, cardio twice a week, and ~20 min GPP junk 3 d/w. I did this same plan on 2 different occassions, and after about 3 weeks I got sick both times.

Also, I tend to get sick eventually even if I just do 7 one hour sessions (this can include running or weight lifting), but this doesn't happen every time, especially as of late.

I'm trying to get ready for MMA, and because of this I know I'm going to need to train a little more than usual (between the classes each week, the SPP training, extra conditioning, grip/ab work and trying to keep up my strength/size gains there's a lot I've got to do each week). I was thinking I should maybe work hard for like 3 weeks, then take a week where I drop volume, intensity, etc and go back?