PDA

View Full Version : Sugary sweets as a good snack?

Nickthebassist
04-26-2006, 06:17 AM
I'm currently being told that sugary sweets (namely Nestle Fruit Pastilles) are a good snack, by a badminton player and sprinter. Is this true? I've always been taught sugary thing before exercise only, so the quick release energy is used, and not stored? They're saying otherwise. They say they know best because they've been talking to professional nutritionalists.

Mr_Muscle
04-26-2006, 06:57 AM
I have been with numerus nutritionalists about my sporting career as I am a body builder and i have been told that snacks such as fruit pastilles are a good snack in a considerable amount because the have nil fat and plentiful amount of carbs in all what you have been informed is correct. if you need anymore information then dont hesitate to get back in touch with me.

bumbells
04-26-2006, 07:08 AM
[QUOTE=Nickthebassist]Is this true? I've always been taught sugary thing before exercise only, so the quick release energy is used, and not stored? QUOTE]
Even if it is stored as glycogen and not fat so it will get converted back to glucose when you next exercise. The glucose is then used up by the muscles in respiration.

Nickthebassist
04-26-2006, 07:40 AM
I have been with numerus nutritionalists about my sporting career as I am a body builder and i have been told that snacks such as fruit pastilles are a good snack in a considerable amount because the have nil fat and plentiful amount of carbs in all what you have been informed is correct. if you need anymore information then dont hesitate to get back in touch with me.
Sounds familiar....get off the forum Nez.

BCC
04-26-2006, 07:58 AM
Sugary sweets are never a good snack.

Clifford Gillmore
04-26-2006, 08:47 AM
Agreed. Have a protein shake.

Unreal
04-26-2006, 08:50 AM
Sugary sweets are never a good snack.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^