PDA

View Full Version : comign back from minor sprain

jazer80
05-11-2006, 03:52 PM
long story short: never isolated forearms. played with heavy forearm exercise. 10 minutes later hit a heavy bag full force, full windup, not realizing my wrist couldn't support my hit. so my wrist buckled fully (like my hand was pointing straight down and my wrist hit the bag).

it's been like 4 days maybe, i've already lifted on it and it's doing good. i'm taking mega dose fish oil (maybe 10 a day w/ 300mg 3's in each pill), and about 2000-2500mg glucosamine and same amount msm daily.

my quesiton is how often should i be stretching it? and should i stretch it as much as i can, or just enough so it doesn't get stiff?

i know these are probably total newb q's, but i seldom get injured, this was just a dumbass mistake that i made

Sleepr
05-11-2006, 04:37 PM
Depends on if you actually sprained the ligament (s) or not and the severity of the sprain. If its a mild sprain, then ROM exercises and gentle stretching in the pain-free range should be ok. Strengthen the muscles around your wrists also (your muscles play a big role in joint stability).

jazer80
05-12-2006, 01:26 PM
Depends on if you actually sprained the ligament (s) or not and the severity of the sprain. If its a mild sprain, then ROM exercises and gentle stretching in the pain-free range should be ok. Strengthen the muscles around your wrists also (your muscles play a big role in joint stability).
yeah that's actually why i was building the 'wrist roller' (just a 25lbs plate with a rope and bar, you just turn the bar to raise it,you guys know what i mean) because my wrists occasionally buckle while boxing (never this bad). i don't get a lot of wrist work because i never train arms below my shoulders (my biceps are out of proportion to my body imo so i don't train them, and therefore i get much less wrist work done), so i built this, and then made a dumb mistake.