PDA

View Full Version : Diet advice needed for a beginner; Am I doing something wrong?

Tsuki No Neko
05-31-2006, 10:55 PM
I'm still really new to cutting, and I feel like I need some help.

I've been working hard and dieting for the past three weeks, and while I had some fast results (about 6 pounds and a couple inches in a week) but then everything came to a screeching halt. I gained back two pounds, but otherwise everything is staying the same.

Basic info about me: 19 years old, 5'9", 178 lbs.

I started my diet at 1890 calories a day, but when the progress stopped, I cut back to 1600-1700 a day. I'm having one protein shake a day, as well as trying to eat lots of protein in other ways too, but sometimes finding it hard to get as much as I want. I suppose I should be eating 178 grams of protein a day and this is hard. What are easy ways of getting more protein?

I'm also doing weight lifting and cardio five days a week. Weight lifting for 45 minutes to an hour, and then cardio for 20.

I know you can't rush these things, but I'm starting to feel discouraged. I'm wondering if perhaps I'm doing something wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated.

UrbanSmooth
05-31-2006, 11:37 PM
Egg whites are low in calories, but high in high-quality protein.

Built
05-31-2006, 11:39 PM
What's your lifting split look like (reps, sets) and how much fat are you eating? What were your calories/macros like before you started your cut? And roughly what bodyfat are you at right now?

Tsuki No Neko
06-01-2006, 01:36 PM
What's your lifting split look like (reps, sets) and how much fat are you eating? What were your calories/macros like before you started your cut? And roughly what bodyfat are you at right now?