PDA

View Full Version : 16 Year Old looking for Football advice

tennisjump
06-12-2006, 09:20 PM
Hello everyone,
Just found this forum looks pretty cool, I'm asking for some help.

I just turned 16, I'm about 6'4 220 as of now. I played JV football and started on O and D line, I want to play on varsity next year, but all the lineman are very big, not necesarily all muscle, but a lot of them weight over 275. I have lifted for the past 3 months, but the first two I wasn't serious, and I didn't see any gains.
The past month I've been lifting serious and have seen some great gains.
My question is what specific exercises would you recommend for an aspiring football player?
Right now I'm lifting 5 times a week, each day doing a different group. Splitting them into Chest, Legs, Bis/tris, shoulders/back, start from the beginning again. I have basic knowledge of equipment, while I'm still a complete new person, I had a trainer go over my form and he said that it was fine.

Edit: Of course looking now, I see there is sports forum, if a mod could move it I'd appreciate it.

Any answers would be appreciated.

Jeremy

rbar89
06-12-2006, 09:48 PM
squat, deadlift, bench press, shoulder press, incline bench, and clean should all be included, as long as you know how to clean. Also do plyometrics for power development http://www.brianmac.demon.co.uk/plymo.htm I'm also training for the upcoming season, here is my routine:

Day 1: Chest, Back
Bench
Incline Bench
Dips
DB Flys (alternate incline and flat each week)
Decline Bench 1xAll

Deadlifts
Pull Ups (palms facing out) 2xAll
DB Bent Over Rows/Barbell Rows (alternate each week)
Close Grip Pull-downs
Seated Cable Rows

Day 2: Rest

Day 3: Legs
Squat
Hack Squat
Good Mornings
Leg Press 2x10,15
Leg Curls/Leg Extensions (alternate each week)
Calf Raises
Abdominal excercises
Wrist Rollers*

Day 4: rest

Day 5: Shoulders, Biceps, Triceps
Shoulders:
Military Press
DB Shoulder Press/DB Arnold Press (alternating each week)
DB Lateral Raises