PDA

View Full Version : Me Deadlifting

d'Anconia
06-19-2006, 09:50 PM
A video of me doing two sets of deadlifting, in that particular order. 1st set is 395lbs and 2nd set is 405lbs. I'm not that familiar with form so critiques are welcome, it's my first time seeing myself deadlift from the side and back.

You will notice that I force my hips down right before I go up but sometimes I'm not happy or ready for the next rep so I do it a few times (especially last reps).

Also toward the end it looks like I'm ending up on my toes a little bit... maybe I'm not planting and pushing back enough?

I sometimes take a while between reps because I like to make sure I start off correctly, I've screwed up my back badly before (a month ago or so) and don't want it to happen again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSmJnfY-bzM

Hockey66
06-19-2006, 10:13 PM
It looks like you are rounding your lower back slightly to me. Try to keep your lower back arched, rounding of the shoulders is alright (some powerlifters even reccommend it).

To be honest, I didn't believe some of your lifts after seeing your pictures. Way to prove my ass wrong. :thumbup:

KevinStarke
06-19-2006, 10:20 PM
lower back looks a tad rounded but strong pulling man. I'm no conventional expert though maybe someone else can offer more critique.

Jinkies
06-19-2006, 10:26 PM
Its difficult to maintain form when you are repping it like you, just takes too much work to get in perfect position when you can pick it up. Bring the weight closer to you and think of it as a part of you and just stand up and lock it out.

If your shins arent bleeding like crazy after a deadlift workout your not doing it right, ive already ruined my model carrer :)

d'Anconia
06-19-2006, 10:27 PM
So should I arch it a bit more when I first start at the bottom to keep it from rounding? That's one of the reasons that I try to get my hips low but perhaps they aren't low enough (they're hard to keep in that postition to be honest).