PDA

View Full Version : Do Powerlifters/strength athletes cut/bulk? Diet differences?

manowar669
08-17-2006, 11:29 AM
I've been BBing for several years with good results, but my personal interest (like many others) is shifting more towards strength training and powerlifting. I may never compete (we'll see), but I just want to work towards brute strength. I still wanna look good, though (maybe this is having my cake and eating it too). I don't necessarily need sub 10% bf, but certainly in the 10-14% range. I've seen lots of pics of powerlifters and olympic athletes, and they are BIG boys. I know having a little extra a$$ behind you is an advantage in these events. So, do powerlifters just eat everthing in sight, with an eye towards getting enough protein and healthy fats, or just eat everything and tons of it or what? Do any powerlifters actually cut?

ShockBoxer
08-17-2006, 11:31 AM
I would say a lot of your approach depends on what weight you want to compete at.

Sensei
08-17-2006, 11:43 AM
A lot of powerlifters are getting more selective with their diets. I think, as a group, they're tired of seeing a lot of people checking out more quickly than they should...

Powerlifters cut weight for meets, but they're not doing it for appearance-sake.

JustinASU
08-17-2006, 11:57 AM
A lot of powerlifters are getting more selective with their diets. I think, as a group, they're tired of seeing a lot of people checking out more quickly than they should...

Powerlifters cut weight for meets, but they doing it for appearance-sake.

Did you mean to say that they are NOT doing it for appearance?

Dinosaur
08-17-2006, 03:39 PM
It depends on weight classes. If you look at the smaller classes of powerlifters and strongman competitors, they tend to be very well-defined as they want as much muscle as they can get without going over their weight restrictions.