PDA

View Full Version : Kickboxing

Foggy06
08-20-2006, 12:28 PM
hey i was wandering if i could get everyones help and advice on this
does anyone do kickboxing or boxing?if so i was looking at doing either of them but im not sure which one.Which would keep me more fit or which one would help me with fighting skills in general.i recently went to a kickboxing place near my home and to be honest i was a little dissapointed with it.there was no equipment like heavybags or anything.It was basically just like a hall.what do normal boxin/kickboxin gyms look like?
Also im 16 and i weigh 11 stone.i have been lifting weights for six months.Is there any specific weights i should do for fighting?
thanks

Chaos229
08-20-2006, 02:22 PM
I train in Muay Thai(kickboxing) and my gym has a ring, a lot of bags, including what we call the stone bag, kicking it at the bottom is like kicking concrete. I also do Jiu-jitsu as well always good to know how to take it to the ground as well. Kickboxing is a great way to stay in shape, plus you get the best of both worlds learn kicks and punches. But you need to find a good place with good trainers it took me a while to find mine, but once I did it was well worth it.

Foggy06
08-24-2006, 07:04 PM
anyone else??

Detard
08-24-2006, 07:34 PM
bah. i would type something up but weve gone over this 100 times. just search man. most people dont like typing the same thing over and over.

Fighter4Life88
09-04-2006, 07:17 PM
You should do olympic lifting mixed with powerlifting. I would take kickboxing because a boxing stance becomes useless in mma. Also Boxing teaches you alot of bad habits like ducking down and tipping your head side from side, where if you did those things in mma you would catch a knee or shin to the face.

PUMPER
09-04-2006, 07:36 PM