PDA

View Full Version : Help I'm struggling

DavyRen
08-22-2006, 01:31 PM
I play 5 aside football (soccer) most weeks for an hour indoor, I'm finding it more and more difficult to drag myself about the pitch and to perform to my usual standard of that before I started lifting.

There's no question I have more of a physical presence, enjoy tackling and can hold my own defensively but I feel like i'm letting myself down with my general play.

Since starting lifting i've probably gained at least 35 pounds, i'm still lean ish and to me still seem thin enough (my non bb mates keep making comments like i'm carrying beef) to be able to perform.

Suppose i'm wondering is it me, am I unfit or is it not possible to combine both bb and football. I'm thinking of jacking the football in.

Thoughts would be most appreciated.

Sensei
08-22-2006, 03:26 PM
Added weight makes it harder to stop and start - no question about it. A 35lb gain is a lot!

Impossible to do both well? No, but it's going to be tough.

DavyRen
08-23-2006, 12:32 AM
Added weight makes it harder to stop and start - no question about it. A 35lb gain is a lot!

Impossible to do both well? No, but it's going to be tough.

Thanks

That was my thoughts, I love my football, I'm so competetive but if I have to choose, lifting wins hands down.

LouPac
08-23-2006, 02:06 AM
You could try doing some plyometrics to build explosiveness, either that or take up being a goalie. :D

DavyRen
08-23-2006, 05:39 AM
I used to be a keeper many moons ago and it did cross my mind last night. Was well on a downer last night when I posted.

Just finding it more difficult to combine both as the months go by and as I get bigger and bigger.

MantiXX
08-23-2006, 10:32 AM
I'm finding EXACTLY the same thing with all the MMA fighting and training I used to do...

I've went from 6' 195 lbs to 6' 220 lbs over the last 1.5 years and most of its muscle.. Very slow gains, but alot stronger....