PDA

View Full Version : Bench Technique

JustinASU
09-01-2006, 01:04 PM
I know most heavy benchers advocate lowering the bar to just underneath the sternum to have it hit the peak of your arch (read: your gut stickin up). I also know that one should flare the lats and attempt to "push themselves through the bench" to get the weight back up. Is it natural for the bench to have a backwards curve when pressing up so that the weight travels back towards your face a bit? This seems natural when flaring the lats.

waynedang
09-01-2006, 03:08 PM
Metal Militia benches this way. Wolfe can answer this better but I believe west side is more of a straight bar path.

Chris Rodgers
09-01-2006, 03:20 PM
Most people who arch and bring the bar low, bring it back up towards the face while flaring the elbows and locking it out.

Hughes
09-01-2006, 03:29 PM
For me, I focus on keeping the bar traveling in a straight line. It is much easier to do when I raw bench; I'm just beginning to venture into shirt benching, but I've noticed the shirt tends to make the bar travel towards the face some. However, it is still my preference regardless to press in a straight-line.

waynedang
09-01-2006, 03:39 PM
Here is a vid of a MM bar path. You can see where I would have been stuck with a straight path. Once you learn to drift the weight back you will be able to lock more lifts out. It just takes time to learn it.

http://media.putfile.com/WayneProse2

JustinASU
09-01-2006, 03:47 PM
Here is a vid of a MM bar path. You can see where I would have been stuck with a straight path. Once you learn to drift the weight back you will be able to lock more lifts out. It just takes time to learn it.

http://media.putfile.com/WayneProse2