PDA

View Full Version : Keep bulking or cut? Advice please!

Beno79
09-11-2006, 09:14 AM
Hi,

I started lifting weights in april 2006, and weighed in at a mighty 155lbs (skinny, no real muscle) at 5'10. Ive been bulking since then following chris masons 15lbs in a month plan, then wbb1.

I now weigh 185lbs, so thats 30lbs in about 5 months ish. However Ive put on quite a lot of fat doing this... I much prefer being bigger, but the gut is starting to annoy me!

I dont have 'before' pics, but here's some 'after' ones, flexed/unflexed.

So, should i stick with it? Or Cut?

Thanks!

Bohizzle
09-11-2006, 10:20 AM
keep bulking, but slow it down a lot, eat just a few hundred cals over maintenance, and shoot for +1lb every week or two, that'll help minimize fat gain while still increasing muscle mass.

Andrew

KarateBoy
09-11-2006, 12:21 PM
I would say cut.

At lower bf, you gain more muscle less fat thereby making you look better sooner and gaining more muscle faster.

Beno79
09-11-2006, 12:57 PM
any idea what bf% i am?

Bohizzle
09-11-2006, 01:01 PM
i'd say 18-20%

Sidior
09-11-2006, 01:57 PM
I would also guess just under 20

growthrep
09-11-2006, 02:08 PM
I'd cut. Look into HIIT. You should look good after a sound cut. Then clean bulk, cut again, rinse, repeat.................

RickTheDestroyer
09-11-2006, 02:15 PM
keep bulking, but slow it down a lot, eat just a few hundred cals over maintenance, and shoot for +1lb every week or two, that'll help minimize fat gain while still increasing muscle mass.

This is the only good advice in this thread. I agree with the bf estimates.

JoeG
09-11-2006, 02:46 PM
I think a nice and very slow bulk might be a good idea. I mean really, really slow and lift heavy like a mad man.

Beno79
09-11-2006, 03:13 PM
Cheers for the replies! Im getting quite conflicting advice though...

I dont think the belly is too bad at the moment, but Im concerned that if i keep bulking it will just get bigger and bigger!