PDA

View Full Version : Deployed Marine needs advice for gaining weight

naterjy03
09-13-2006, 03:18 PM
Hey everyone,

I've been reading these forums for about a week now and decided I would finally post here. I'm in the Marine Corps infantry and am deployed to Iraq until February. I've always been a skinny guy with a crazy high metabolism, 6'1 150 lbs. I started lifting seriously about a month before I deployed, that would have been in June. I had some good weight gains in that month, got up to 160, but due to alot of patrolling in full combat gear in summertime Iraq heat I lost alot of that in July and August. I recently had to change jobs due to sustaining two fairly serious concussions caused by run-ins with a roadside bomb and a suicide bomber on two consecutive days and now have found myself with alot of extra time to lift. I'm back to 150lbs again and want to gain some serious mass. The main issue here is nutrition, eating enough to successfully bulk/gain mass. We often have to eat MRE's(Meals ready to eat), and usually can only get one MRE per meal. Is it possible to bulk on a diet like that? Or will I just have to wait until I get back to the States to do any serious bulking? I fear I may have to wait until I get back to the US to make any significant gains :(. I've tried to compensate for the relatively small amount of food available per meal by drinking 5 or more protein shakes every day, taking meal replacement supplements, and eating any snack I come across. I just recently started buying tuna fish packets to try and get a little added food intake, but they aren't consistently available here, the store sells out quickly. Supplement-wise I've been taking whatever my mom sends me: GNC pro-performance whey protein, some GNC weightgainer, Cellmass after workouts, and have tried some GNC meal replacement packets.