PDA

View Full Version : The Anabolic Diet

cts122
10-04-2006, 10:41 PM
Are any of the experienced users on this forum familiar with Mauro Di Pasquale's book called "The Anabolic Diet"? The author of this book is one of the bigger names in strength training and diet and considers his diet to be an alternative to steroids. I did a search and could not find any discussion on it which does surprise me. I haven't completed the book but have gone ahead and read the key parts of it and planning on going through it cover to cover when i get some more time.

Whether or not this is acually an "alternative" to steroids, it is quite effective as I do know a few people who have experimented with it. I have not actually tried it as gains have never seemed to be a problem for me, however i guess I am still relatively new to bodybuilding and am certainly interested in his ideas for the future. For those of you not familiar with it, I can give a brief idea of how it works.

It consists of a 7 day plan, the first 5 days are basically protein and fat only, the ratio is 60% fat and 40% protein with a small allowance for carbs but for the most part they are to be avoided. Because of the low carbs there is close to no insulin release which inhibits GH production so there is an increase in growth hormone as well as testosterone. Day 1,3, and 5 are all workout days.
Day 6 and 7 are carb loading days, i dont think the ratios are very important and protein is not really required but carbs should be about 70% of the calories. He says fat can be up to around 30% but I don't see why this would be needed and I would assume it is just for simplicity and ease. Insulin levels increase during this time at a reasonable level and your body switches into anabolic mode.

This is a very brief idea of what the book has to offer as it is over 100 pages but i just wanted to give an idea of what it entails.