PDA

View Full Version : Protein powder is upsetting the stomach..

Altephor
10-21-2006, 11:35 PM
I've been using Muscle Milk since I started lifting about 1 year and a half ago. Lately everytime I have protein after my lift it causes bloating and diarrhea. I haven't been having the protein lately because I lift between classes and getting stomach cramps during my physical chem lab is not fun at all.

My normal shake is about 8-10 oz of whole milk, two scoops muscle milk, and a large teaspoon of Skippy peanut butter.

My diet, I will admit, is horrible. I never seem to eat a lot, and I snack alot. Lately I've been trying to switch to 'healthier' snacks (quaker 'Quakes' rice snacks, goldfish) and trying too drink more water. Usually lunch consists of an 8" sub or wrap (ham, turkey, american cheese, lettuce, mayo), dinner is usually chicken fingers with fries or a salad (caf food).

Anyways I'm wondering is it the protein itself that's causing it or is it just that it's running straight through my system.

Built
10-22-2006, 01:38 AM
Gold fish aren't healthy, by the way. And I'd urge you to ditch the Skippy and get yourself some good quality natural peanut butter. I'm a big fan of Adams Crunchy, salted. Delicious.

Muscle Milk is a pricey way to get in your protein. Maybe just use regular protein powder (whey, or Nitrean), toss in some dextrose as required, maybe do what a lot of the guys here do and powder up some oatmeal to put into your shake, some olive oil and or peanut butter, milk - see how that works for you.

Altephor
10-22-2006, 12:11 PM
Well I was thinking of switching to whey protein because muscle milk is expensive, though I do love the taste of the muscle milk.

But even if I switch to a different brand I don't see how that would solve my problem with the cramps and diarrhea.

TommyBoy
10-22-2006, 12:13 PM
Gold fish aren't healthy, by the way.
What are you talking about.....dont' they have Omega-3 Fatty Acids in them?????:nod: