PDA

View Full Version : Cottage Cheese - Last snack at night?

mistergalarza
10-25-2006, 09:04 AM
Alright experts, i'm trying to eliminate the usage of too many protein shakes.. Out of 6 meals I have 2 as protein shakes and 1 protein bar. I want my last nighttime "6th meal" to be Cottage Cheese instead of having my shake. I've never tried this before.

Here's my question(s). What do you guys pair it up with? What type of brands do you go for? I hear the taste is horrible, is it really that bad?

What are your recommendations, guys?

(I did pull up searches on cottage cheese but didn't find anything that went much into detail.)

Cirino83
10-25-2006, 09:14 AM
Cottage cheese doesn't taste bad if you don't mind eating what smells like a putrid fart. I personally prefer peanut butter over cottage cheese. But if you want to eat a cheese, I'd suggest Ricotta (tastes better and doesn't smell)

mistergalarza
10-25-2006, 09:18 AM
Doing it for the protein, without having to cook another chicken breast at 11pm.

Unreal
10-25-2006, 09:27 AM
Taste great to me and has no smell or anything. Try different brands and varietys. I like the kroger lowfat or nonfat. Some brands are gross, some are great. Try full fat, low fat, and nonfat. You can mix in nuts, fruit, peanut butter, splenda, or anything else with it for a nice snack. A handful of nuts and some splenda with a cup of CC is great.

Mr. D
10-25-2006, 09:42 AM
I go with Kroger nonfat as well. Its ALWAYS on sale, like in my location, a 16 oz can be had for $1 this week. I eat cottage cheese with 2 TBSP of natty PB. a great P+F meal. I add sweetner too, either stevia or splenda and it tastes even greater. Sometimes I add a tbsp or so of yogurt to it and it gives a great texture.

CC is greatness and it doesnt smell.

getfit
10-25-2006, 09:54 AM
cottage cheese,berries and a handful of nuts.

getfit
10-25-2006, 09:56 AM