PDA

View Full Version : Westside is wearing me down

RedSpikeyThing
10-25-2006, 08:14 PM
I've been doing the Westside routine for almost 2 months now and have a lot of strength gains to credit to it. Between playing hockey and school, I feel Westside is just beating the **** out of me. I'm tired and sore and I'm not lifting cars over my head yet. Ok so forget the cars, I'm tired and sore. And I can't always make it to gym 4 days a week.
Now to the point: I'm looking at beginning Westside for Skinny bastards (http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459321). (and here's part II (http://www.t-nation.com/findArticle.do?article=05-100-training)).

Vital stats:
20 years old, 5'8", 150 lbs and bulking
Bench: 165
Squat: 265
Deadlift: 290

So here are the questions: What do you big, strong, car twirling people think of the routine?
My hockey schedule is irregular at best, so what do you think I should do for the extra workout?
What do you think is more important: sheer strength, or sacrificing some strength gains for gaining muscle?
Any other tips and/or suggestions?

drew
10-25-2006, 08:24 PM
I think it's a great program and if the standard template is killing you, maybe the WS4SB will be a good change.

Don't worry about extra workouts. If you're playing sports, you're already doing plenty.

Sheer strength is more important than mass, but no reason you can't chow down and pack on some mass too!

Ruffian
10-25-2006, 10:23 PM
I just have to say that the main reason you may be tired is that you arent eating enough to suppliment your hard lifting schedual and hockey. You are 2" taller then me and weigh only 8 lbs more.... I think maybe if you upped your calories you would perhaps not be so physically exhausted.

What is your diet like?

K1M
10-25-2006, 10:24 PM
Try doing the normal westside, but only workout 3 times a week.

Week 1:
ME Bench
Off
ME Squat/DL
Off
DE Bench
Off
Off

Week 2:
DE Squat/DL
Off
ME Bench
Off
ME Squat/DL

and so on..

JustinASU
10-26-2006, 06:15 AM