PDA

View Full Version : Rugby Assistance

CancerVII
10-27-2006, 04:49 AM
Hullo, I've been playing school rugby for around 3 years now. I tend to play either second row, number eight or flanker and I've never been real good at it and next year's my grade 12 year, hence Opens Rugby. I really wanna get into a decent team and I'm willing to put in the effort. I just wanna know what should I do to get into shape for the season. I've got approximately a bit less than half a year left until the next season.

Currently I'm in the gym 2 times a week as I use the school gym and they're not available on the weekends. However, the Christmas holidays is comign up and I'm hoping to go to the local gym with a mate which would allow me to go around 3 times a day.

Can you guys suggest some good exercises for the holiday season? I'm not particularly strong nor fit so I thought I'd get you guy's opinion. I'm currently 72 kilos and 180 cms and I've been working out since the start of this year. So far my gains have been alright but I can't seem to put on any weight. I managed to max out 55 kilos on bench and 85 kilos on squat last term.

I'm not aiming for the 1st XVs but I want to at least have a chance in the 3rd XVs.

If you need any info about my routine and stuff to guide me, I'll answer gladly. :p Just not sure what to include right now.

Shifty
10-27-2006, 06:05 AM
If you want to put on weight eat and eat some more! You cannot gain muscle without eating an excess of calories.

A basic program for you to look at would be something like www.crossfit.com . It will build your strength, whilst also improving your heart. I play rugby at county level (are you a brit?) so have a lot more training sessions than you do, but this is what my week looks like at the moment:
Sunday: Game
Monday: Metcon in the morning, weights in afternoon
Tuesday: Metcon in morning, training afternoon, weights evening
Wednesday: Running, rest
Thursday: Weights, training afternoon
Friday: Metcon, training.