PDA

View Full Version : New years resolution: Gain 20 pounds

illusion87
11-25-2006, 01:57 AM
I'm fairly new at body building and I need some serious help. I want to gain a good 20 pounds of muscle this year but its hard for me to gain weight. I'm in college right now, Im about 5 10 and I weigh about 130-135 (I know im skinny). It seems its impossible for me to gain weight because of my fast metabolism.

My plan is to hit the gym 3 times a week for 1 to 2 hours workouts. Its hard for me to find time to work out now and eat regular meals because Im either in class or at work.

Does anyone think its possible for me to gain this amount of muscle in the time of about 4 or 5 months? Also, does anyone have any tips or simple on the go recipes thats loaded with calories.

Davidelmo
11-25-2006, 03:55 AM
I'll try to make this really easy for you:

Here is your new routine:
http://www.wannabebig.com/printarticle.php?articleid=25

Look up any exercises you dont understand here:
http://www.exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html

Track your diet on:
http://www.fitday.com

Aim to eat enough calories that you gain weight. Aim to get 150g protein a day.

As for food on the go, try this:
700ml milk, 4tbsp peanut butter, a few scoops whey, 100g of oats.
That has over 1000 calories.

You can also snack on almonds, peanuts etc. Drink milk all the time.

illusion87
11-25-2006, 09:37 AM
thanks for the post.

How many calories should I consume a day? Right now I dont even think im hitting 2000 calories.

Davidelmo
11-25-2006, 10:56 AM
Try 3000 for a week. See if you gain weight. Unfortunately there's no magic value that works for everyone. The only way is to try and see. If you dont gain on 3000, try 3500. Rinse and repeat.

Using fitday was the single best thing I ever did for gaining weight.

ShockBoxer
11-25-2006, 11:27 AM