PDA

View Full Version : Need some guidance on gaining/cutting

Hawk45
11-27-2006, 06:29 PM
I am 33yrs old. I am 6'4" and 200lbs. Body fat has never been measured but probably in low teens...maybe less.. only place I have fat is some around my waist and on my back... everywhere else veins are popping.

I do weights MWF and cardio (running) 4-5 days a week.

I have been using Fitday for about 8 months and track every little thing. I am eating around 2000 - 2300 cals per day. And a 30-30-40 nutrion split of those calories (fat-protein-carbs).

I know I have lost fat (30 lbs overall) but my measurements aren't any different than when I started 8 months ago.

I am still working on getting cut (want the 6 pack) but I also want to gain some size/mass. What do I need to do? More calories? I just don't want to get bulky... want that lean cut look with mass... if that makes sense.

Thanks for reading and your our help is appreciated.

John

WildJames
11-28-2006, 11:37 AM
I don't think it's a good thing your carb intake is the highest % of your macros.

RedSpikeyThing
11-28-2006, 11:58 AM
How did you lose 30 lbs and not change size? If anything, that suggests you lost muscle and gained fat.
Your protein looks quite low. 30% of 2000 calories is ~150 g of protein - not enough for someone who weighs 200 lbs!! Also, there is no need to use percentages in your diet. There are minimum amounts of fat and protein (0.5 g/ lb LBM and 1 g/ lb LBM, respectively) that you should hit everyday. After that, fill in the remaining calories with whatever you like.
It is very difficult to get bigger and stay cut. You either eat in excess to gain weight and muscle mass, or eat in a caloric deficit and lose fat.

RedSpikeyThing
11-28-2006, 12:00 PM
I don't think it's a good thing your carb intake is the highest % of your macros.