PDA

View Full Version : New in more ways than one. :)

Nikkiwomang
11-29-2006, 08:50 AM
I have been working out for the past 10 months and have slowly built up to my workout program that I am on right now. I always have lots of questions and I hope this is the right place. Please be nice, I'm new to all of this, I have never worked out in all my life so this is all new to me.

Ok I've got questions:

1. Can you jog too much? I started jogging everyday.

2. Can you work out too much? I curcuit train and jog a mile mon-fri, Sat and Sun I weight lift and jog two miles. I heard you need to give your muscles a rest but I feel bad if I don't work out.

3. I like jogging at the track after my gym workout, how do I not get sick. What is the proper jogging attire during the winter? Also I've heard to make sure and wear sweats as to not cramp up your muscles, is this why my calve muscles freaked the **** out the other night? They got really tight and I had to stop.

4. Anybody ever done curcuit training work outs or is it just for girls?

Anthony
11-29-2006, 09:35 AM
1. Can you jog too much? I started jogging everyday.
Yes, you can jog too much. Unless you're a marathon runner (I'm guessing you're not), I would say every day is too much. Hell, I'd say every day is too much EVEN IF you were a marathon runner.

2. Can you work out too much? I curcuit train and jog a mile mon-fri, Sat and Sun I weight lift and jog two miles. I heard you need to give your muscles a rest but I feel bad if I don't work out.
Yes, you can workout too much. Some people might get away with the routine you listed, but 99.9999999% of people will NOT. Eventually you'll start to lose strength, speed, stamina and/or get injured. More is NOT better.

3. I like jogging at the track after my gym workout, how do I not get sick.
Do you usually get sick?

What is the proper jogging attire during the winter?
Dress in layers.